Upcoming Meeting:

Saturday June 2nd, 10:30am – 4:00pm 

Advanced Glass Technology (Adolf Gunther’s shop)

1 Raymon Lefever Drive
 Bloomington, NY 12411

Adolf has graciously opened his glassblowing shop for one more Scientific Glassblowers meeting. Come see one of our members long time glass shop and hear the history of Advanced Glass Technology. This will be a day filled with demonstrations, talks and really good food. Please join us for this special event.

10:00am          Registration – $10.00 member, $20.00 non-members – Light refreshments and lunch will be served.

10:30am          Adolf Gunther – Scientific glassblower and owner of Advanced Glass Technology. Adolf was born in Berlin Germany and in 1969 moved to Canada and worked as a neon tube bender for 6 years. He then came to America in and worked for Welch for a short time. He started Advanced Glass Technology in 1986 and has been a part of the A.S.G.S for 53 years; he is a wealth of information. Adolf will give a tour and talk about the history of Advanced Glass Technology.

11:00am          Kaite Jones – Scientific Glassblower for General Electric at the Global Research Center in Niskayuna, NY. Please bring your quartz glasses for this one. Kaite will be doing a special demonstration and will work with people that would like to try their hand at quartz. She holds a degree in Scientific Glass Technology from Salem Community College and is our National Secretary for the A.S.G.S.

11:45am          Patrick DeFlorio – Scientific Glassblower and owner of Yankee Glassblower in Carlisle, MA. Patrick will be demonstrating platinum to glass seal. He will work with people that would like to try their hand at this. Patrick is our current secretary for the Northeast Section of the A.S.G.S

12:30pm          Lunch & Business meeting

1:45pm            Sally Prasch – Scientific Glassblower for Syracuse University, Umass/Amherst and Prasch Glass. Sally will have just returned from Murano Italy where she attended the Glass Art Society Conference and will give a presentation on her travels.

2:15pm            Mike Souza – Scientific Glassblower for Princeton University will be demonstrating and talk about different ways of working with quartz.

3:00pm            Jared Carver – Scientific Glassblower and Chemist, owner of Boston Distillery, South Hadley MA. He will demonstrate making a Snyder distillation column.

3:45pm            Raffle – Please bring things to be raffled. We will also have a 50/50 raffle.

Sponsors:        North Jersey Diamond Wheel – 218 Little Falls Road Cedar Grove, NJ 07009              973-239-5805

Wilt Industries – Rt. 8, Lake Pleasant, NY 12108 / 800-232-9458
Lab Glass-

RSVP by May 23rd Patrick DeFlorio at Yankee Glassblower – email preferred 978-369-7545 please include number of guest




Our Officers:

Director:  Jared Carver         email
Section Chair / Alternate Director: Sally Prasch  email
Secretary: Patrick DeFlorio    email
Treasurer: Wayne Marten  email